Skip to Main Content

See our latest COVID-19 updates.

Honors College

National Scholarship Opportunities

The Honors College has an ongoing commitment to recognizing and awarding excellence among all undergraduate students. CSU students are encouraged to apply for and participate in these national competitions. Below are just some of the opportunities available. Students are encouraged to begin planning for these opportunities as early as their freshman year so that they can participate in activities that will increase their competitive edge in these prestigious national competitions.

Watch our presentation to learn more!

Schedule an Advising Appointment

  • Log into your MyCSU account.
  • On the left navigation, click on EAB.
  • Click on "Get Assistance" in the blue box on the right hand side.
  • From the "I would like help with" drop down, choose "Advising".
  • From the "Reason" drop down, choose "Honors Advising".
  • From the "Pick a Service" drop down, choose "National Scholarship Inquiry".
  • Choose your location.
  • Pick your advisor from the drop down or click next for all availability.
  • Here you will see available times. Choose your day and morning or afternoon.
  • Once you click on morning or afternoon, you are given times to choose from. Click on your selected time, and click Next.
  • Enter comments/concerns/questions in the comment box.
  • Set up a reminder! We highly suggest the text option!
  • Click on Confirm appointment!

For more information and tips, see how to make your scholarship application successful.

Barry Goldwater Scholarship:

  • Awards up $7,500 per year for 2 years
  • Seeks students interested in Mathematics, Natural Sciences & Engineering.
  • Faculty Nominations available: 4 Nominations per Institution
  • Institutional Deadline: December 6, 2020
  • Application Deadline: January 31, 2020 5:00 PM
  • Campus Representative: Dr. Cindy Ticknor,

Udall Scholarship:

  • Seeks students interested in the Environment or Native American and Alaska Native students committed to careers in tribal public policy or Native American and Alaska Native students committed to careers in Native health care
  • Awards 60 recipients up to $7,000 for educational expenses
  • Faculty Nominations available: 4 Environmental Candidates and 4 Tribal Public Policy and/or Health Care Nominations per Institution
  • Institutional Deadline: February 15, 2021
  • National Deadline: TBA
  • Campus Representative: Dr. Joshua May,

Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship:

  • Available to Phi Kappa Phi members entering the first year of graduate or professional study
  • Awards 51 Fellowships of $5,000 and 6 Fellowships of $15,000 each year
  • Institutional Deadline: March 16, 2020
  • National Deadline: April 15, 2020
  • Campus Representative: Dr. Cindy Ticknor,

Phi Kappa Phi Undergraduate Study Abroad Grants:

  • Awards fifty $1,000 Study Abroad Grants
  • Open to all disciplines for Studying Abroad
  • Deadline: March 15, 2021
  • Campus Representative: Ms. Katherine Grego,

Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship:

  • Scholarships of up to $5,000 to study or intern abroad for students receiving Federal Pell Grant funding. Award amounts will vary depending on the length of study and student need.
  • Study or Intern abroad must be for at least four weeks (28 days) in one country and no more than one academic year.
  • Spring 2021 Application Deadline: August 1, 2020
  • Summer 2021 Application Deadline: August 1, 2020
  • Fall 2021 Application Deadline: TBA
  • Campus Representatives: Ms. Katherine Grego, and Dr. Eric Spears,

Marshall Scholarship:

  • One or Two Year Scholarships to the study in the UK
  • University fees, cost of living expenses, annual book grant, thesis grant, research and daily travel grants, fares to and from the United States.
  • National Application Deadline: September 25, 2020
  • Campus Representative: Dr. Eric Spears,

George E. Mitchell Scholarship:

  • One academic year of postgraduate study in any discipline offered by institutions of higher learning in Ireland and Northern Ireland
  • National Application Deadline: September 25, 2020
  • Campus Representative: Dr. Eric Spears,

The Rhodes Scholarship:

  • Students pursuing a graduate degree in Oxford - Includes all educational costs plus a living stipend.
  • Disciplines: Arts and Humanities, Engineering, Science, and Social Science
  • National Application Deadline: October 7, 2020
  • Campus Representative: Dr. Eric Spears,

Harry S. Truman Scholarship:

  • Up to $30,000 toward a public service-related graduate degree.
  • Seeks students wanting to get a master's degree, a doctorate, or a professional degree such as a law degree or a Master of Public Administration, Master of Public Health, Master of Social Work, Master of Education, Master of Public Policy, or Master of International Affairs.
  • Involvement in student government, community service activities, government internships, political activities/campaigns
  • US Citizen of Junior Standing
  • Institution can nominate up to 4 students
  • Institutional Deadline: January 4, 2021
  • Campus Representative: Dr. Ryan Lynch,

The Boren Scholarship and Fellowship:

Scholarships and fellowships of up to $25,000 for undergraduate students and $30,000 for graduate students to study in an underrepresented country within study abroad (i.e., outside of Western Europe, Canada, Australia, or New Zealand)

  • Language learning is a significant focus of the program and all award recipients are required to demonstrate growth in the language they study while abroad
  • Public service is a significant focus and all award recipients are required to commit to fulfilling a federal work service requirement upon graduation
  • ROTC cadets and midshipmen and members of the military Reserves or National Guard must be considered inactive, non-drilling status for the duration of their Boren Awards-funded program
  • Open to all disciplines for study abroad
  • Deadline: January 18, 2021 (campus review) and February 3, 2021 (national review)
  • Campus representative: Dr. Jordan Brasher,

For additional information about any of the scholarships listed above, please click on the link provided or schedule an appointment in EAB.

View the presentation below for additional information on pursuing a National Scholarship

National Awards and Scholarships

View the 2020-2021 National Scholarship Presentation (PDF)

Members of the National Scholarship Faculty Committee

Dr. Dawn Frazier
Ms. Katherine Grego
Dr. Johnny Ho
Jovan Johnson
Dr. Joshua May (Committee Chair)
Dr. Ryan Lynch
Ms. Laura Pate
Dr. Wen Shi
Dr. Eric Spears
Dr. Kerri Taylor
Dr. Cindy Ticknor 
Dr. Rebecca Toland